To throw away the landlord’s shit in the loft?

We’ve just moved in to a nice house. The landlady mentioned that the loft was partly boarded out and that they’d left “a couple of boxes in the very back that we couldn’t reach.”

I just went to stow some things and pretty most of the boarded out space is full of their stuff. It’s about a dozen or so cartons of crap. Mostly toys and holiday decorations.

None of this is on the inventory. I’d like to use that space for our empty suitcases, camping gear, etc. There’s already a large shed full of their stuff that I grudgingly accept we can’t use. But the loft situation annoys me.

DH feels it would be wrong to empty the loft. I have been in this situation before (previous landlord was much, much worse and I did throw everything away.) I just have no patience for this. I think it’s infantile to be unable to take responsibility for your belongings. If they can’t be bothered to move it, or even inventory it, then they clearly can’t really care about it.

The first carton I looked in had what was clearly a well-loved child’s teddy. Even I don’t have the heart to toss that. But what about the other stuff?

Leave a comment